Posted by: njs44 | September 1, 2010

London (part 1)

Being a tourist in your own city is interesting. I have so many pictures now that this will be part one of a series. Earlier this summer I, like many others, delighted in taking pictures of the Elephant Parade. Now that the elephants have all been sold, and moved to their permanent homes, I was wondering what I would find next to photograph. I had made it a habit to carry my camera with me whenever I went into London, which is how I came to get this picture, the first one I took of an elephant in the parade.

Since the elephants went (and I have managed to get a photograph of all 258 of them) I continued the habit of  keeping my camera in my bag so that I can snap interesting things as I come across them.

This is a view of the House of Lords taken from the Jewel Tower, which, I believe,  is the oldest surviving part of the Palace of Westminster.

Today, as I walked past the South Bank, I came across this wonderful piece of art work, and as there are only a few days left to visit it, I thought I’d better post at once.

The weblink is here http://www.southbankcentre.co.uk/find/hayward-gallery-and-visual-arts/visual-arts/tickets/project-morrinho-southbank-centre-favela-1000045 and here are my pictures

Here is an extract from the blurb about this project

Project Morrinho is an ever-growing social project that originates from a miniature city hand-built by young people who live in the Pereira da Silva favela in Rio de Janeiro. This new work has been created in collaboration with young people from Stockwell Park Estate ion Lambeth, a borough with the largest Portuguese-speaking community in the UK.

The original Project Morrinho has become an inspiration to people around the world. It began when a 14-year-old boy moved to the favela and decided to play with bricks he found in his backyard to create buildings inspired by his new surroundings. Other children took notice and their new shared hobby grew to become a miniature replica of their community built into a hillside woodland where they played out imaginary adventures with toys. The fame of this miniature favela has steadily spread, along with the positive message it conveys about young people in areas normally synonymous with poverty and crime.

Young people from Stockwell Park Estate and Project Morrinho have worked intensively to discover differences and similarities about the environments in which they live, inspiring a joint landscape made up of 4,000 bricks depicting buildings, landmarks, playgrounds, parks and homes. Like the Rio favelas, Stockwell Park Estate’s thriving community centre and its aspiring young residents are often overshadowed by its reputation for drug-related crime and poverty. Project Morrinho has sought to share with Stockwell Park Estate how they can bring about positive change in their community.

Responses

  1. Great pictures. I love model villages. I used to go to Bekonscot model village as a kid – amazing, and it’s still open:
    http://www.bekonscot.co.uk/


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

